'67 Amphi at Kruse Boca Raton, FL auction

Firechief

I attended the Kruse auction today and a fully restored '67 Amphi, Fjord Green over Apricot went across the block. The car was restored by an experienced and sophisticated antique car restorer as part of an episode for an upcoming cable TV car program to be aired on the National Geographic channel. The car was probably one of the nicest Amphis I have seen. I spoke to him at length and he said he used original NOS parts whenever he could find them. He used Gord Souter and Gordons parts. Although I am not an expert, from my experience owning a '64 Amphi in original, unrestored condition for almost 4 years and buying bits and pieces as needed, it was done up right. It was a complete ground up, nuts and bolts, mechanical and cosmetic restoration and it looked it. I did not get the VIN number. The bidding went up to $58,000 and stalled there. The seller did not let it go for that. He had told me he had somewhere around $75,000 in the car, and announced on the block that he would lift the reserve at $70,000, but there were no takers. I guess this shows that you cannot restore an Amphi (to better than new condition) and be ahead of the market any more (at least not now).

Ariel Poplack
Ft. Lauderdale

mike_israel

Amphicar Forum Admin
Staff member
Here is a recent article on that Amphi's maiden voyage.

http://www.phillyburbs.com/pb-dyn/news/113-12262008-1643596.html

I think that the overall market for collector cars is in bad shape at the moment, not just Amphicars.* Lots of people out of work, and people can no longer tap into those easy home equity loans based on 5x the actual value of their homes.* It is a great time to be a buyer.* Still, an investment in a top quality amphi (or other collectible) is still probably a better investment than most stocks!

Midwest Amphicar

Worlds Largest Amphicar Destination